Thursday, March 22, 2012

Rich Fetchiet Selected to College Baseball Hall of Fame

The College Baseball Hall of Fame recently announced that this year’s recipient of the National Collegiate Umpire Award is Rich Fetchiet. The award, sponsored by Honig’s Whistle Stop, a provider of umpire gear, honors a lifetime of excellence in umpiring.

Fetchiet is only the second recipient of this award, following the inaugural selection of Dick Runchey in 2011. Fetchiet has umpired baseball for 35 years, and has worked three College World Series, including the plate at the 1999 national championship game. He has worked extensively internationally at the 1991 Pan Am Games in Cuba, 1993 World Cup Qualifier in Nicaragua, 1997 Intercontinental Cup in Spain, 1998 World Championships in Italy, the 1999 Cuban National Team’s game with the Baltimore Orioles in Camden Yards, and the 2000 Olympic Games in Australia.

Fetchiet currently serves as Umpire Supervisor for the Collegiate Baseball Umpires Alliance (CBUA), and is umpire Coordinator/Supervisor for many college conferences including the Big Ten Conference, Big 12 Conference, Conference-USA, Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Great Lakes Valley Conference, Horizon League, Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association, Mid-American Conference, Mid-Central Collegiate Conference, Missouri Valley Conference, North Coast Athletic Conference, Summit League and is Co-Supervisor of the Big East Conference.

“Knowing who some of the other nominees were made the notification of selection overwhelming to me,” Fetchiet said. “I remain beyond humbled. Perhaps what makes this recognition so special is knowing that it comes from my friends and colleagues in college baseball umpiring. I am deeply grateful and appreciative of this award and look forward to the celebration in Lubbock.”

“The final ballot included three names, and the entire vote count was separated by a mere three votes,” said Mike Gustafson, executive director of the College Baseball Hall of Fame. “That Rich won such a close vote speaks to his work on and off the baseball diamond.”

The award will be presented as part of the College Baseball Night of Champions on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas.

No comments: